15 Years Today

22 Jul

It’s crazy how over time things that were once mortifying can become favorite memories. Fifteen years ago, today, I was married. No, marrying my husband wasn’t mortifying. Rather, some of the moments at the reception were . Now, I look back on these memories and they are my favorites.  Surprisingly enough I  also want to share them with others….so here goes.

The Slotted Spoon
Our wedding budget was next to nothing, and thanks to ingenuity and family, we were able to pull off our wedding. Of course, my biggest embarrassment was that we weren’t using real plates and silver ware. I knew the food would taste great (thanks to my Uncle Jim) but it just wasn’t going to feel as nice because of the way it was being served. In the end, I really had no choice, so I forged ahead. To compensate, I decided that the Hors d’oeuvres table would be classy. You know, tooth picks in every piece of cheese, etc.

Fast forward to the wedding day….Jim and I are walking into the reception hall and I am looking around at all the smiling faces. I notice someone at the appetizer table and to my horror they are scooping mounds of cheese curds on to their plate with a large slotted spoon.  After 5 beers (out of plastic cups), it didn’t seem as bad. After 15 years, it makes me smile and my kids use that same slotted spoon in their sandbox.

4 Responses to “15 Years Today”

  1. Stuart Oliver July 22, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    Mortifying for you, I met the Otto’s and Vailliencourt’s that weekend. Congrats.
    Stu

    • Blogger July 22, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

      That’s right! I am sure the Vailliencourts weren’t as tough as the Ottos.

  2. Rachel Sommerer July 23, 2010 at 7:49 am #

    Kristen – Oh I remember that weekend so well. Your wedding and reception were perfect. Sam danced – I think it is the ONLY time I have seen him dance. Of course I also think we were doing shots with Steph’s boyfriend – Ol’What’s His Name. I could go on and on. But that weekend is one of my fondest memories as well. Happy Anniversary and God Bless!!! We love you guys!

    • Blogger July 23, 2010 at 8:43 am #

      thanks Rachel! I forgot how our wedding was also operation …”Get Sam and Rachel Together”. Glad you two ended up together too….not everyone can laugh at two boys falling through a ceiling:) Love — kristin

Leave a Reply

